Juliana Bicycles

Laura Battista


Can you give us a brief intro about yourself?

My name is Laura Battista and I'm 31. I've lived in three different countries including Australia, England and now Canada. I grew up on a small farm in Australia and was super active, playing field hockey and racing as a track cyclist at a national level. I love to travel and explore new places.

Where do you call home?

Two places; Squamish BC and Adelaide South Australia. I can't really pick one over the other, they are both important places in their own rights. 

What’s your day job? 

Well, I have a few jobs including Veterinary Technician, part-time Bike Guide/Coach for Ride BC and server at Samurai Sushi. This keeps me busy but also allows me to travel and bike which I love most of all.

What’s your favorite part of your day job?

Working with and taking care of ill animals. When I'm Guiding/Coaching I'm just so happy to show off my local trails and get people excited about the sport, and allow people to get as stoked as I am about bikes! 

What’s your least favorite part of your day job? 

Saying goodbye to pets, which will never get easy! 

Who’s your favorite riding buddy and why?

I would have to say Curtis my boyfriend as he's always very supportive, pushes me to take new lines and try new features.

I'm also very lucky to have a strong crew of women to ride with. We all support each other and always aim to improve and grow as a biker whilst having a good laugh. 

When did you start mountain biking? Why did you start? What made you a lifer (was it a moment, a ride, a trip, etc.?)?

I started riding mountain bikes in 2012. I first decided it would be a good idea to commute off road to work so I bought a hardtail. I never ended up commuting on it as the road bike was way more efficient, instead, I met a local women's group in the peak district of England and never looked back! Mountain biking changed my life from a teen party queen to an outdoor enthusiast just like that! The Enduro racing started as I wanted to meet more bikers and have more friends to adventure with. I'm also very competitive and love the thrill of racing. 

What’s the thing you love second to cycling and why?

Spending time with friends, my boyfriend, family and Luna, our dog.  I just like being out in the mountains, camping, and backcountry snowboard our other passions of mine second to bikes. 

Do you feel that you have a good balance in your life? If yes, how do you achieve that? If no, what's off balance and why? 

Sometimes, life is always a juggling act! Last year I worked and studied a lot and of course, there was lots of biking too. However, I hope this year will be more about bikes! I can't complain I couldn't have planned a life as good as what I've got. 

What’s your favorite ride snack?

Baby food and shot blocks

If you left for a big mountain bike trip tomorrow, what're the top 3 things you couldn’t live without?

My foam roller, toothbrush, and earphones 

What’s your favorite local trail and why?

I have so many favorite trails, such a hard question! I would have to say somewhere over there would be up there, as it has a bit of everything fast, flow and tech. 

What’s one other thing in your life that is as good as this trail?

Hanging out with Curtis and Luna dog!